Some Christmas songs

Merry Christmas, Yule, Saturnalia etc!

I have a reasonably traditional Gibraltarian Christmas with the family, a feast with my immediate family and grandparents with both British (turkey, roast potatoes, yorkshire pudding) and Spanish (turron, pata jamon etc) elements, followed by a night of revelry at the local Rock joint with people who over the years have become my second family. Gib being a small place and the rocks scene smaller still, my family there are not just good friends of all ages but also the creepy uncles, drunken aunts, senile racist grandparents, screaming babies, sibling rivals and all the aspects of the family one doesn’t choose, too. There’s a lot of love though. I’ll only be home for 2 days this Christmas, and I’m going to make the most of it.

Something I usually can’t stand about Christmas is the music. Commercial Christmas radio aside, I also can’t stand of lot of cheesy ‘alt’ Christmas songs (like hair metal covers of carols, that sort of thing). But anyway, as the season is upon us, I thought I’d share the Christmas-themed songs I actually enjoy that will be making their rounds on my playlist on the plane trip home.

A fantastic song from my favourite black metal-turned-trip-hop band, Ulver. This song is actually about the festival itself and articulates a lot of its meaning in a way I wholeheartedly concur with. This is always played on repeat Christmas time every year.

A typically morose offering from Type O Negative, this one appeals to my goth metal sensibilities, but in the light of the fact that certain more senior members of my family who I used to see regularly at Christmas are no longer with us, it’s acquired more personal resonance too.

Beautiful song and video from shoegaze-y Scandinavians Mew, this one is only incidentally a ‘Christmas’ song, I guess, but reminds me of how at these annual reunions of friends and family, skeletons can fall out of cupboards, old fires kindled and past nightmares remembered. Another version from the Triumph for Man album is also pretty good.

A sentimental, rationalist Christmas song from Aussie musical comedian that encapsulates the reasons why I enjoy and look forward to Christmas despite my typically humanist objections to all the crap that comes with it.

Ok, so I said that I don’t like cheesy Christmas covers…but I do like Japanese grind noiseniks Melt Banana. A lot. So here is

Enjoy! Please feel free to post other Christmas-y songs you think I might enjoy up on here, I’ll approve them if I think they’ll make a worthy addition to the playlist.

~ by theserpentscircle on December 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
